Immunoglobulin Subclasses

Measurement of IgG subclasses (IgG1, IgG2, IgG3 and IgG4) may be of value in patients with multiple recurrent infections in whom there is no overt immunoglobulin deficiency.
Clinical details: 
There are 4 subclasses of IgG (IgG1, IgG2, IgG3 and IgG4) defined on the basis of molecular characteristics. The IgG subclasses demonstrate age, sex and genetic variation. Isolated or compound deficiencies of all four subclasses have been described but, whilst some patients with deficiency exhibit clinical symptoms, others demonstrate no evidence of disease.
Reference range: 

IgG1 3.9 - 12.7 g/L IgG2 0.3 - 7.9 g/L IgG3 0.1 - 1.2 g/L IgG4 0.10 - 1.11 g/L Please contact the laboratory for paediatric ranges.

Sample type and Volume required: 
Clotted (yellow SST tube). Serum.
Turnaround time: 
1 week
Reference Chemistry Laboratory at St Thomas'
020 7188 1264
4th floor, North Wing
St Thomas' Hospital
Westminster Bridge Road
London SE1 7EH
For clinical advice or interpretation of results, please contact the laboratory in the first instance.

Print as a PDF

Last updated: 09/09/2022